MOORESVILLE, NC – October 10, 2017 –

The Ford GT sophomore season came to a close after a hard-fought 10-hour Petit Le Mans race in Braselton, Georgia last weekend, where Ford Motor Company was awarded the Tequila Patron North America Endurance Cup Manufacturer Championship (GTLM class) for 2017.

The Ford Chip Ganassi Racing teams of Joey Hand, Dirk Müller and Sébastien Bourdais (drivers of the No. 66) and Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and Scott Dixon (drivers of the No. 67) earned two wins, eight podiums and five poles in the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship Series this year.

After twelve rounds of racing this season the No. 67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing team and Ford Motor Company, were also honored with the DEKRA Green Racing Award. This award is presented to the most environmentally clean, fast, and efficient GT Le Mans (GTLM) competitor of the season.

Here are some of the 2017 highlights.

Rolex 24 At Daytona – No. 66 Hand/Müller/Bourdais won the first pole of the season

Rolex 24 At Daytona Winners – No. 66 Hand/Müller/Bourdais with Roush Yates Engines’ team

The Ford GT race cars are powered by twin-turbo Ford EcoBoost V6 engines

Doug Yates and Calibration Engineer, Charles Vogel headed to victory circle with the No. 66

Twelve Hours of Sebring – No. 67 Briscoe/Westbrook/Dixon sat on the pole

Roush Yates Engines’ Calibration Engineer, Craig Ashmore firing up the No. 67 Ford GT

Watkins Glen, NY – No. 66 Hand/Müller won their second pole position

Road America, Elkhart Lake, WI – No. 66 Hand/Müller won the fourth Ford Chip Ganassi pole of the season

Road America, Elkhart Lake, WI – No. 66 Hand/Müller took the checkered flag

Ford Chip Ganassi Racing took P1 and P3 at Road America

Virginia International Raceway – No. 66 Hand/Müller won the fifth pole of the season

It was a Great 2017 Season!  Look forward to seeing everyone in January 2018 back in Daytona Beach for the Rolex 24 At Daytona.

* Images courtesy of  Ford Performance

Comments are closed.