Doug Yates

President & CEO

Doug Yates has been around the sound of revving engines for as long as he can remember. You could say, it’s in his DNA. This comes as no surprise when you happen to be the son of a living legend, famed engine builder and team owner Robert Yates.

With a passion for stock car racing and making horsepower, Doug not only carries on a deep rooted father-and-son heritage of winning, he continues to build a reputation in motorsports as both a world-class engine builder and respected businessman.

Born and raised in the heart of Charlotte, NC, Doug attended North Carolina State University and received a degree in mechanical engineering in 1990 and in 2015 was inducted into the MAE Hall of Fame. With his education in hand, coupled with a keen fascination with making horsepower and his desire to push innovation, Doug soon became head engine builder at Robert Yates Racing.

By 1999, Doug’s knowledge and responsibility led him to one of his proudest on-track moments when, as head engine builder for team driver Dale Jarrett, Robert Yates Racing won the overall Winston Cup (now Monster Energy NASCAR Cup) championship. This landmark achievement in Doug’s life motivated him to go even faster.

In 2003, legendary engine builders Jack Roush and Robert Yates were the only teams running Ford engines in NASCAR’s premiere series. In an effort to combine knowledge and technology, the men joined forces and formed what is now known as Roush Yates Engines, becoming the exclusive Ford Engine Builder for NASCAR. Led by President & CEO Doug Yates, they turned this partnership into an immediate success with winning the 2004 Nextel Cup Championship (now Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series). Since 2004, Roush Yates Engines has achieved over 280 combined overall wins (points and non-points) in the NASCAR, IMSA (International Motor Sports Association) and FIA (Federation Internationale De LÁutomobile) series.

In 2009, Doug shifted his focus exclusively to engines and purchased his father’s half of Roush Yates Engines to become a co-owner in the company. Today as CEO, Doug leads a staff of 180 employees located in three state-of- the-art facilities; Roush Yates Engines, Roush Yates Performance Engines Group and Roush Yates Manufacturing Solutions. Doug has grown Roush Yates Engines from a NASCAR Cup engine shop to a global engine company that designs, develops, builds, and tests world-class engines for multiple race series including:

  • Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series
  • NASCAR Xfinity Series
  • NASCAR Camp World Truck Series
  • IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship
  • IMSA Continental Tire SporstCar Challenge
  • FIA World Endurance Championship

Doug’s continuous commitment to Ford and their racing program is respected all over the world. Ford has always been his manufacturer of choice, and he is especially proud of partnering with Ford Performance in the development of the first purpose built race engine, the Ford FR9 V8 NASCAR engine.

Doug Yates has worked in the motorsports industry for over 25 years. He challenges himself and his team each and every day to be better, unique and different. Whether he is building champion caliber engines or giving back to the community, Doug continues to exemplify tradition and the pursuit of excellence that will follow him well into the future.

1992, 1993, 1994, 1996 Copenhagen/Skoal All-Pro Team
1992, 1996, 2000, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015 Engine Builder for Daytona 500 Champions
1999 Head Engine Builder for Winston Cup Champion with Dale Jarrett
1999 Henry Ford Racing Achievement Award
2000 Chase All-Star Award
2004 Head Engine Builder for Nextel Cup Series Champion with Kurt Busch
2005 Roush Yates Engines power 5 cars into the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup
2006 Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award, NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series
2007 NASCAR Busch Series Champion with Carl Edwards
2011 NASCAR Nationwide Series Owners Points Champion
2011 MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
2011 MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award, NASCAR Nationwide Series
2011 NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
2012 NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
2012 IMSA Rolex 24 at Daytona Podium Sweep
2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series Owners Points Champion
2014 NASCAR Nationwide Series Owners Points Champion
2015 Achieved 100th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Win
2015 Swept Daytona, winning IMSA Rolex 24 & all NASCAR races
2015 Achieved 100th NASCAR Xfinity Series Win
2015 NASCAR Xfinity Series Owners Points Champion
2015 NASCAR Xfinity Series Champion with Chris Buescher
2015 MAHLE Engine Builder of the Year Award, NASCAR Xfinity Series
2015 NC State University MAE Hall of Fame Inductee
2016 FIA 24 Hours of Le Mans, LM GTE Class winner with Joey Hand, Dirk Müller and Sébastien Bourdais
2016 IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge, GS Class; Driver, Team and Manufacturer Championship winner with Billy Johnson and Scott Maxwell
2016 Roush Yates Engines recognized by Professional Motorsport World as one of the Top 10 Engine Builders of the Decade
2016 Honored with Special Achievement Award for Ford EcoBoost V6 race engine design by Race Tech International
2017 IMSA Rolex 24 at Daytona, GTLM Class winner with Joey Hand, Dirk Müller and Sébastien Bourdais
2017 1st Daytona 500 win with Kurt Busch, Stewart-Haas Racing & Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series