BRASELTON, GA – October 15, 2018 – Ford wins the 2018 IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Manufacturers’ Championship title. It has been a tremendous year for Ford Performance, Ford Chip Ganassi Racing team and Roush Yates Engines.

The combined efforts of the No. 66 team of Joey Hand, Dirk Müller and Sébastien Bourdais, along with the No. 67 team of Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and Scott Dixon won five out of 11 GTLM races and four poles during the 2018 season on the way to clinching Ford’s first Manufacturer’s title at Petit Le Mans this weekend.

In addition, the team also celebrated winning the Tequila Pátron North American Endurance Cup Driver, Team and Manufacturers’ titles. This title highlights the four major endurance races on the 2018 schedule; Rolex 24 At Daytona, Sebring, Watkins Glen and Petit Le Mans.

“Congratulations to Ford, Edsel, Chip and all the Ford teams,” said Doug Yates, President and CEO of Roush Yates Engines. “It has been a phenomenal season and to win the Manufacturers’ Championship titles with the Ford GT and GT4, along with the Patron Endurance Championship titles is what our teams have worked so hard for. It’s a testament to the collective team’s dedication and teamwork. We’re blessed to partner with Ford and provide the horsepower to these great programs.”

After starting the season with a 1-2 finish in the Rolex 24 At Daytona, the teams went on to win a string of four straight races; Watkins Glen, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Lime Rock and Road America.

Rolex 24 At Daytona – Daytona Beach, FL – No. 67 Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and 2018 Indy Car Champion, Scott Dixon.

Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen – Watkins Glen, NY – No. 66 Joey Hand and Dirk Müller.
Mobil 1 Sportscar Grand Prix – Bowmanville, ON – No. 67 Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook.
Northeast Grand Prix – Lakeville, CT – Hand and Müller.
Continental Tire Road Race Showcase – Elkhart Lake, WI – Briscoe and Westbrook.
Ford and the Ford Mustang GT4 teams, powered by the Ford Mustang 5.2L V8, also earned the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge Grand Sport Manufacturers’ title on Friday night at Road Atlanta.
Three different Ford Mustang GT4s won a total of five races in 2018; Roush Performance/KohR Motorsports won three while Multimatic Motorsports and VOLT Racing both won one a piece.

Alan Jay Automotive Network 120 – Sebring, FL – No. 60 Roush Performance/KohR Motorsports, Nate Stacy and Kyle Marcelli.

Mid-Ohio 120 – Lexington, OH – No. 60 Roush Performance/KohR Motorsports, Stacy and Marcelli.
Continental Tire 240 at the Glen, Watkins Glen, NY – No. 8 Multimatic Motorsports, Chad McCumbee and Patrick Gallagher.
Canadian Tire Motorsports Park 120, Bowmanville, Ontario – No. 60 Roush Performance/KohR Motorsports, Stacy and Marcelli.
Road America 120, Elkhart Lake, WI – No. 7 VOLT Racing, Alan Brynjolfsson and Trent Hindman, won their first GS class race.
The teams will take this momentum as the turn to prepare for the 2019 season, starting with ROAR in Daytona on January 4th.

*Photos courtesy of Ford Performance

Comments are closed.